Parent's Message

Belle Plaine Driver’s Education              
Parents’ Information Meeting
  1. Complete 30 hours of classroom and obtain blue card
      2.  Pass permit test - Must present Certified Birth Certificate AND Social Security Card

      3.  Apply for Permit in Chaska
  • Pay $14.25 fee
  • Pass vision test
  • Have picture taken
  • Present social security number
  • Student may drive home
      4.  50 hours of practice driving (with 15 hrs being at night) with parents.
 
      5.  Complete 6 hours of Behind the Wheel instruction and obtain white card
  • Three 2 hour lessons within a 3 week period  (BTW available April – Aug )
      6.  At age 16 and 6 months after obtaining permit student may test for driver’s license.  Present driving log.
 
      7.  During the first 6 months of licensure teen drivers are allowed only one passenger under the age of 20 who is not a member of the driver’s immediate family, unless accompanied by a parent or guardian.
 
      8.  During the second 6 months of licensure teen drivers are allowed only three passengers under the age of 20 who are not members of the driver’s immediate family, unless accompanied by a parent or guardian.
 
      9.  During the first 6 months of licensure, teen drivers are prohibited from driving between midnight and 5:00 am, unless accompanied by someone 25 years or older.
 
    10.  It is illegal for a 16-17 year old licensed teen driver to use a cell phone while driving.
 
    11.  It is illegal for all drivers to text or access the internet, when the vehicle is in motion or part of traffic.
 
    12.  Minnesota law requires all occupants to be buckled up or to be in a proper child restraint.
 
    13.  Minnesota enforces the Not a Drop (Zero Alcohol Tolerance) for drivers under the age of 21
 
    14.  Farmer’s permit may be obtained by a 15 year old immediately after completion of Behind the Wheel instruction.  Property tax statement is required.
 


Teen Drivers
  1. Statistics indicate it takes an individual 5 years to become a safe and efficient driver.
  2. A person’s greatest lifetime chance of being in a fatal crash occurs during the first 12 months after receiving a license as a teenager.
  3. Traffic crashes are the leading cause of fatalities for teens.
  4. Risky behavior does increase the chance of a crash, however teens who are responsible, smart, “good” kids can make mistakes or errors in judgment while driving.
  5. Speed: more than 1/3 of teen driver crashes involve speeding
  6. Distractions: more than 80% of crashes involve distractions such as radio, cd player, cell phone and most of all passengers.
  7. Seat belts: 2/3 of teens killed in fatal crashes were not wearing seat belts.
  8. Night Driving: teen age drivers are three times more likely to be involved in a fatal crash at night than during the day.
  9. Alcohol: 69% of teen age fatal crashes involve alcohol
  10. Parents: Make a difference

Contact: Tony Hartmann